An Orientation to the ESCOP Social Science Subcommittee

APLU http://www.aplu.org/

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (A·P·L·U) is a research and advocacy organization of public research universities, land-grant institutions, and state university systems with member campuses in all 50 states, U.S. territories and the District of Columbia. The association is governed by a Chair and a Board of Directors elected from the member universities and university systems. President Peter McPherson directs a staff of about 45 at the national office in Washington, D.C.

The association's membership includes 217 members, consisting of state universities, land-grant universities, state-university systems and related organizations. The total includes 74 U.S. land-grant institutions, of which 18 are the historically black institutions. In addition, A·P·L·U represents the interests of the nation's 33 American Indian land-grant colleges through the membership of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC). A·P·L·U institutions enroll more than 3.5 million undergraduate students and 1.1 million graduate students, employ more than 645,000 faculty members, and conduct nearly two-thirds of all federally-funded academic research, totaling more than \$34 billion annually.

With roots going back to 1887, A·P·L·U is the nation's oldest higher education association. In 1963, the American Association of Land-Grant Colleges and Universities merged with the National Association of State Universities to form the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. On March 30, 2009, the association adopted the name Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, or A·P·L·U (the name of each letter is pronounced).

A·P·L·U currently has six commissions that focus on vital issues in higher education. Among these are the: Commission on Access, Diversity and Excellence; Advisory Committee on Technology; Commission on Food, Environment, and Renewable Resources; Commission on Innovation, Competitiveness, and Economic Prosperity; Commission on International Programs; and Commission on Urban Initiatives. Commissions may be broken down into boards and task forces that drill farther down into the issues. Commission members are appointed by the presidents and chancellors of A·P·L·U's member institutions.

Commission on Food, Environment, and Renewable Resources CFERR https://www.aplu.org/sslpage.aspx?pid=262

The Commission on Food, Environment, and Renewable Resources focuses on cross-cutting issues related to agriculture, forestry, human sciences, natural resources, ecological sciences, oceans and atmosphere, and veterinary medicine in the functional areas of research, extension,

and academic programs. Current high priority areas include: technologies to defend against bioterrorism and agroterrorism; food and its relationship to health, the environment and globalization; the quality and health of the environment; the scientific workforce; expanding partnerships with the U.S. Geological Survey, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration; sustainable natural-resource management; water quality and quantity; global change; agriculture and marine biotechnology; food safety and quality; sustainable human development, and international trade and development. The commission seeks to formulate and implement an integrated federal-relations program and formulate Congressional budget recommendations in these high-priority areas of national concern, as well as to forge partnerships with government agencies whose mission areas are congruent with the commission's activities.

The CFERR is home to five boards: Board on Agriculture Assembly, Board on Human Sciences, Board on Natural Resources, Board on Oceans & Atmosphere, and Board on Veterinary Medicine.

ESCOP http://escop.ncsu.edu/index.cfm

The Experiment Station Committee on Organization and Policy (ESCOP) is the executive or operating body of the Experiment Station Section (ESS), Board on Agriculture Assembly (BAA) - APLU, and handles continuing business, organization, and policy issues on behalf of the state agricultural experiment station directors. Full ESCOP meetings are usually scheduled in February or March (in Washington, DC) and in July or August.

Officers and Committees http://escop.ncsu.edu/Viewcommittees.cfm

- The ESCOP Committee (E-1)
- Budget and Legislative Committee (EC-1)
- Communication and Marketing Committee (EC-2)
- Executive Committee (EC-3)
- Science and Technology Committee (EC-4)
- Chair's Advisory Committee (S-2)
- Nominations Subcommittee (S-8)
- Resolutions Subcommittee (S-9)
- Oversight Committee for NIMSS (S-12)
- NRSP Review Committee (S-13)
- Social Sciences (T-5)
- National Multistate Coordinating Committee (CC-5)
- National Plant Germplasm Coordinating Committee (0-1)

Science and Technology Committee

http://escop.ncsu.edu/ViewCommittees.cfm?comid=5

The ESCOP Science and Technology Committee is charged with promoting and enhancing science and technology in the Land-grant university system. The Committee will assist ESCOP to identify future directions and anticipate and respond to research needs and opportunities for funding. It will assist in linking science and technology programs to multistate and national research initiatives. It will recommend how ESCOP will respond to reports, recommendations and planning documents from the national science community. It will provide guidance to ESCOP strategic planning and priority setting.

Social Sciences Subcommittee http://escop.ncsu.edu/ViewCommittees.cfm?comid=23

The purpose of the ESCOP SSSC is to: "Recommend specific actions to help the Land-Grant system address high priority research and education issues leading to outcomes that deal with social issues in a significant, measurable way and that will generate sustained financial support." The SSSC answers to the ESCOP Science and Technology Committee. The SSSC membership is comprised representatives of the five traditional social science disciplines within Land-grant Colleges of Agriculture in each of the four regions, Northeast, North Central, South, and West. The disciplines include: Agricultural Communications, Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Education, Human Sciences (including Family and Consumer Sciences), and Rural Sociology. Each discipline is also represented by the 1890 institutions, as well as by at-large members. A number of Ad Hoc and Ex Officio organizations relevant to the social sciences comprise non-voting members of the SSSC, including: the four Regional Rural Development Centers; the Farm Foundation; the Rural Policy Research Institute (RUPRI); the Board on Human Sciences; the Consortium of Social Science Associations; the Council on Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics (C-FARE); and the National Coalition for Food and Agricultural Research (National C-FAR).

The 2013 NIFA Liaisons to the ESCOP SSSC are Pat Hipple and Siva Sureshwaran.